Loving the mZansi-Life

It was -10 that evening but a warm +25 in our hearts as we celebrated the ‘mZansi-Life’ in Oslo last weekend. All South Africans know the mZansi-Life. It’s the life that many here in Norway yearn for. The life of sunshine and colour. Orange and green instead of grey, black and white. Choice instead of chain stores. Sunshine instead of grey skies.

I left my good Art Director job in Durban and moved to Oslo 10 months ago. It was not the crime or general frustration most South Africans site for leaving. Rather it was love. I had fallen in love with a viking and now was to leave my life behind and move to the coveted Scandinavia. Taking on ‘love immigrant’ status was harder than I thought. I found myself bewildered at this new life. Everything I had come to know and love of South Africa was suddenly gone, the fashion, the colour, the options, the people! I was wishing for that life again, the mZansi-Life so much I began to blog about it.

Why write all this? To empty my heart out and speak of my experience. To show that a wish can lead to a blog, which leads to a business doing something I absolutely love and needed to do.

mZansi-Life is that business which seeks to bring the Southern Life to Norway by promoting talented independent fashion designers in South Africa. Designers such as Miss Moneypenny, Muti and Beadworkz are the first to be welcomed under the mZansi-Life umbrella brand. Their style and story struck a chord at the pre-launch party last weekend.

Wonderful woman from all over the world living in Oslo responded to the invite; sushi, wine and clothes! Ladies from Germany, Burundi, South Africa, Britain and Norway all said the same thing:

We want colour.

We want choice.

And we want to know the story behind our clothes.

And South African designers answered. The party was a great success. The fashion was embraced and sparked an interest in S.A. design which is set to grow this summer in Norway. Miss Moneypenny was loved for her uniqueness and recycled vintage sari fabric. Beadworkz for the time and love put into every necklace and for supporting their community. Muti, for the original illustrative design of Clint Campbell.

I had to sit back and breathe a sigh of relief afterwards. It was like watching a baby being born. mZansi-Life took its first steps and is set to grow this summer. Next we plan a Spring Launch party and a fashion show. Who knows where from there?

There might be a chance to enjoy the mZansi-Life in the far North after all. 🙂

love

mzansi madame

P.S. I will be in South Africa this coming month looking for new designers. If you are one or know of one with good quality work, let’s chat!

Leave a comment